Enjoying Your Lunch?

30 Dec

There used to be a time when I would debate over the number of home games my team had won the previous season over lunch. Who did Brett Favre complete his first pass to? Who holds the record for most hot dogs eaten in 12 minutes?

These were the topics that consumed my energy.

Now, however, it’s virtually impossible to have a meal without talking about something related to getting engaged. Did you know they were only dating for 8 months? Did you know they only had 3 months between getting engaged and getting married? Which ring design do you prefer?

I catch myself, from time to time, staring at a TV in a restaurant with a game on and thinking, “I couldn’t name the 12 starters on either side of the ball anymore.” I usually return to my woman, who is staring at me, thinking, “did he hear any of that?”

Probably not.

One Response to “Enjoying Your Lunch?”

  1. Sara January 3, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    oh my god…I do that. And I’m sure he hates it.

Leave a Reply

