Wedding Dresses and Football

16 Jan

favre.jpgNot exactly a match made in heaven.

So, there we are, second round of the playoffs, first round for my beloved Packers.  I’ve got the BTB sitting by my side, she’s offered to make nachos and get a few beers.  I didn’t think life could get any better.

In retrospect, I really don’t know how I could have been so naive.  I mean, she’s obviously not going to watch the game and, naturally, she’s going to search for things to occupy the time.  I should have known that this time would be filled with wedding research.

The timing of the whole thing was the incredible part.  I mean, the packers get down 14-0 early in the first quarter and all the sudden, I’m hearing talk about a wedding dress.  My brain was so clouded with the prospect of losing in the first game of the playoffs that it took me a solid 5 minutes to register what the topic at hand was.

Then I made another mistake.  I asked a question.  Seriously, what was I thinking?  I mean, did I honestly believe that I was going to be able to even think about anything other than feeling like I might be watching Brett Favre’s last game?  Did I really think I could multi-task during a playoff game?

So, lesson learned.  Never again will I get myself in a situation where I don’t ask her to plan or have a plan for her to keep occupied during a Packers playoff game.  I hold myself accountable for this.  It’s my fault and no one else’s.

Leave a Reply

