Make Your Own Invitations?

24 Jan

letterpress-2.jpgletterpress-3.jpgI love letterpress. Love, love love it. I love the look of colored images impressed into a thick, yummy piece of paper. Is this description grossing you out? Are you thinking, “its just paper and ink, its just an invitation?”

Look at these samples I’ve found in a quick online search. See how rich and luxurious they look. I fear I must have letterpress inviations… and I hope against home that the GTB doesn’t come chasing after me with his wallet and a stack of other wedding bills.

I mean, I’d like to do it myself… rent studio time at the Minnesota Center For Book Arts, but I must say that I am scared of screwing up… majorly.

What do you think? Letterpress or printed? Hire someone or do it myself? Do you have any tips? Suggestions? Send ’em my way!

3 Responses to “Make Your Own Invitations?”

  1. Vanessa January 26, 2008 at 4:18 pm #

    my opinion would be to make them, it’ll save you money and mean more 🙂

  2. cornstar February 21, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    i made invitations for a friend’s wedding a few years ago. they had a creative, homemade feel…and still a lot of class. almost every rsvp included a comment along the lines of “what a great idea/love the invite”
    of course, it was a painintheass making them – designing, modifying, modifying, modifying…modifying, finalizing and the hand assembling all 200 of them in a mad all-nighter before shipping them off to her (we live 1200 miles apart) and worrying that they wouldn’t arrive, etc.
    but, in the end, it was sooooo worth it. her invites were awesome, unique, perfect (just like her). 🙂
    so, do it. and make your m.o.h. do the bulk of it!
    congrats & good luck!

  3. Ali February 23, 2008 at 4:46 am #

    Do you know a graphic designer? We hired a friend to design one-of-a-kind invites and people STILL comment on their originality. We had them printed at a local printing company. They did require some assembly, but it was worth the work! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

