The Heat Is On

30 Apr

After completely dropping our original reception idea and deciding to go for something that wouldn’t require us to haul a bunch of stuff, rent linens and bring our own liquor (hello, heavy lifting!), we started from scratch.

A new list with new guidelines — I still decided to stick to my “no hotels” rule, but I decided to seek out restaurants that would allow us to host our reception in their location.

There were surprising a lot, but many don’t have enough space for 150+ people.

At any rate, I managed to sort through hundreds of Minneapolis, Saint Paul and Stillwater restaurants and narrow it down to 2! An Italian restaurant in Saint Paul (omg, it smelled SO delicious when I checked it out) and a more hip, Spanish restaurant in downtown Minneapolis, which I will be visiting today.

Truth be told, money is an issue… if we can get one place for $3000+ less than the other, I’m sold. But… taste, decor and location also weigh in. Here’s hoping we have a winner by week’s end!

2 Responses to “The Heat Is On”

  1. MissPotterbear May 1, 2008 at 5:15 am #

    Hi, I’m planning a twin Cities wedding as well and was so happy to find your blog-one of the first I’ve found for the area. I was thinking on doing a restaurant reception as well, any way you could share some insights on restaurants you’ve looked at that didn’t make the cut? Did you call a lot of restaurants without info on weddings/events on their websites to find out capacities/pricing? Sorry for all the questions but thanks again for the blogging, it’s a great resource to be able to share information!

  2. kenziew May 1, 2008 at 5:18 am #

    Thanks so much!

    I’ll submit another post on HOW I searched restaurants

Leave a Reply

