Perfect Posture for your Wedding

19 Aug

I’ve been consciously watching my posture, I want to stand up straight for the wedding. But I keep finding myself slouching at my desk, while using the laptop at home, even in my grad school classes.

What’s a girl to do?

I thought about getting one of those back braces that supposedly align your posture, but there were a few reasons I couldn’t do it…
1. hugs
2. cute clothes
3. once you take it off, your posture is back where you started.

Then, in my google searching yesterday, I came across something different (something I swear I dreamed up in my teens, then never made).

The iPosture is a device that you stick to your skin, wear as a necklace or attach to your bra. When you start to slouch, it gives you a little vibration, a reminder to sit up straight.

The site suggests that users not wear it for more than 4 hours at a time, and they’ll start to subconsciously sit up straighter, to avoid the “buzz” (hello, Pavlov’s dogs!).

What do you think? Will it work, or should I stick to the brace and/or balance ball at work idea?

2 Responses to “Perfect Posture for your Wedding”

  1. mary August 19, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    Are you kidding me! I seriously think I have thought of this as well!! I have a brace I wear around the house and I have noticed a difference, even when I’m not wearing it … but I think this will be a much more effective option. Thanks for the post!

  2. Sarah September 16, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Start taking yoga and go to classes more than once a week so it really starts conditioning your body. I stood and sat up 10 times straighter after my first yoga class. You really have to do it more than once a week though.

Leave a Reply

