My Ruined Dress, Pt. 1 of 2

1 Sep

Here’s the story of my wedding gown… er, the gown that WAS to be my wedding gown.

I went to Macy’s Bridal Sample Sale in April, arriving 1 hour before the doors open. I was probably about number 120 in line… which means that there were women who had been waiting since 6:00 a.m. or sooner. Wow.

I had tried to get my sister to join me, but she was snoozing, so I faced the sea of lace, satin and tulle alone.

So anyway, my experience in line was pleasant. The girls in front of me were not exactly friendly, but there were plenty of women with small or no entourages who were friendly and chatty.
Want to see the dress, click

When I was allowed into the room, I was AMAZED at the quantity of gowns. There must have been at least 1,000 gowns on display, with many others already purchased or in the dressing area with soon-to-be brides. I was pleasantly surprised to NOT see something like Filene’s Running of the Brides. I really wasn’t in the mood to elbow or trip a crazed MOB or soon to be MOH.

I flipped through several gowns, organized by desigers… Ramona Keveza, Vera Wang, Watters, Ines de Santo, Anne Barge, Lazaro and Marisa, to name a few. And let’s not forget Reem Acra!

Anyway, I loaded up my arms with some beautiful gowns, mostly ivory, primarily strapless, void of beads, sequin or funky embellishment. I was into the silk, satin and lace and my choices absolutely reflected that.

I entered the dressing area with 5 gowns and stripped down in a small area with no door. I was surrounded by women in all stages of undress, from the girls who were modestly covering their bra-covered busts to the women who were prancing around in a thong and lacy bra and the girls who came P-R-E-P-A-R-E-D. These girls were sporting spanx, bridal heels and updos — smart. My boyshorts were certainly not the best undergarment to wear that day, but it was obviously too late to change.

I threw on dress number 1, and LOVED it. It had SO much potential, but would certainly need some alterations (including the removal of some attached sashes that were just not my style) I felt it was important to try on several others, so I did. After trying and discarding the other 4 dresses, I hung onto number 1 and went back for more. After 3 rounds of stripping/trying on/discarding gowns, I knew that number 1 was the 1.

It was a lovely creamy beige a-line, strapless Vera Wang with ruching on the bodice, an empire waist and a chapel-length train.

On my way out, I snuck a peak at boleros (hello! – $600 on SALE), maid dresses and MOB dresses (grabbed 2 for my mama to consider) and lingirie (no comment!).

I swung through the checkout and purchased my goods… of course Macy’s suggested a local bridal dry cleaner — Mashek Cleaners in Hopkins. The Vera gown was certainly in need of a clean, there was a bit of dirt along the hem and train and some makeup marks on the inside of the bodice (um… concealer on the chest?!?! interesting).

I cannot even tell you how thrilled I was to bring that baby home!
This image is the chest-icle area of the gown…

Read part 2
See the damage

One Response to “My Ruined Dress, Pt. 1 of 2”

  1. Heidi September 2, 2008 at 12:31 pm #

    I saw your post on Weddingbee…I’m interested to hear what happens!

Leave a Reply

