I Must Be Crazy

3 Nov

Wedding planning can be tough stuff. I’m in the thick of it, 6 months and 13 days out, and I couldn’t be more excited. I still have to decide pretty much EVERYTHING, except the location. The GTB and I decided to scrap our venue and move our reception to the backyard. Of our new house. That we moved into 3 days ago.

This “new house” was actually built in 1958 and needs word. A LOT of work. We’ve found a contractor and an architect, and we’re planning a MAY-JAH remodel (we’re talking walls torn down, exterior of house pushed out a few feet, new hardwood flooring to replace carpeting, custom cabinets, new lighting, electrical, plumbing, doors, security system, the works.

So, I’m wondering, WHAT THE !&#% AM I DOING?!

Am I seriously planning a wedding reception in this backyard, of this house that we moved into 3 days ago? With a remodel project that won’t start until mid December, at the soonest?!

Oh, and on top of that, we have a bunch of light fixtures to replace, a bathroom, mudroom and entryway to TILE OURSELVES, and a bunch of rooms that need to be scraped of their awful wallpaper and painted.

I think I’m starting the beginning of a 200 day anxiety attack 🙂

Does anybody have recommendations or words of encouragement?!

2 Responses to “I Must Be Crazy”

  1. Michelle @ My Wedding Report November 4, 2008 at 4:33 pm #

    I’m excited to see what you have planned! What made you ultimately decide on your house? I’m sure the next months will be crazy, but it will turn out amazing. My advice…take it one step at a time.

  2. Laura Ivanova November 6, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    Wow!! Really?! You guys are ambitious. Of course, I haven’t seen your new house (congrats, by the way) I’m sure it has the potential to be incredibly fabulous 😀 I can’t wait to see what you do with this- the house and reception!

Leave a Reply

