How The Heck am I Supposed To Lose Weight?!

4 Dec

How am I supposed to lose weight when:
1. I love wine… I typically have a glass (or a few each night)
2. I eat donuts and breakfast junkfood at work? Seriously, there’s a Pizza Luce around the corner, and we have breakfast treats each Friday and Monday!

I’m trying so hard, cutting back, etc, but with grad school, the remodel and wedding planning, it’s REALLY hard to squeeze workouts in too…

Sigh.

Any suggestions that might actually work!?

5 Responses to “How The Heck am I Supposed To Lose Weight?!”

  1. violarulz December 5, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    bring your own lunch? I’m REALLY want a Mr. Bento (google it, or look on Flickr) so I can pack lots of variety and get built in portion control. Plus, brining lunch saves money!

  2. amy December 5, 2008 at 7:55 pm #

    oy. i’m battling the same thing. i got a surprise xmas bonus today of a 400 dollar gift card to the mall….and husband-elect came up with the idea of finally buying the elliptical machine i want and putting it in the spare bedroom that is empty…except for my desk. and he even went so far as to chart out what the savings would be by buying it now and having it in our house as opposed to the money i’ve spent on a personal trainer and a gym membership! if only i had a girlfriend who could come over everyday and we could take turns!!

  3. Sarah December 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm #

    I wasn’t trying to lose weight for my wedding – also just under 200 days now (!?), but over this past summer I became a vegetarian, and thus started eating tons more veggies and also trying to stuff in as much protein as possible in the calories I consume (since it’s really hard to get the bare minimum amount of protein as a veg.) I’m not a strict vegetarian, I eat fish….Any way, the moral of the story is that my diet has been tons of veggies, fresh and from frozen, lots of veggie protein like vegi burgers, tofu, edemame, and nuts, eggs, and dairy (full fat dairy too), tuna, salmon, seafood….and I went down a dress size with virtually NO exercise. It just happened when I wasn’t paying attention over the past 4-5 months. It has to be the change in my diet, nothing else has changed.

  4. Kari January 7, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    I know it’s boring, but Weight Watchers. Yep. There is nothing like some good, old accountability to get you there. I lost 65 pounds several years ago with WW…and sadly, I have gained back about 15. Wedding is in September, so just the time to get my butt in gear…and back to meetings. It isn’t for everyone, but I am a firm believer in it.

    If not that, then just keep a food journal. Same rule applies: accountability!

    Oh — and all the obvious tips: park farther from the door, take the stairs, etc.

  5. eclecticbride January 15, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Substitute. We got the “Eat this not That” book for both eating out and the grocery store…it’s amazing at what small substitutions at places like Star bucks or even with the kind of wine you drink can do. Also, as you get closer to the wedding, add water, cut out salt. Eat asparagus and other high fiber veggies and fruits. It helps your stomach flatten out (Odd, but true).

    If you’re a numbers person, you can keep track of your calories (in and out) through the http://www.dailyplate.com My Matron of Honor has been using it and has lost 20 lbs since July.

    Hope that helps! Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

