Not Giving Up on Ranunculus

30 Mar

We’ve moved! Check out this post at our new home, and don’t forget to check out our newest giveaway!

6 Responses to “Not Giving Up on Ranunculus”

  1. Katie March 30, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    I just looked on one of the sites that I have bookmarked for my wedding, and found them at $299.99 for 300 stems. It’s more than the Costco price, but not by too much. Hopefully it fits in your budget!

    http://www.fiftyflowers.com/search.php?search_val=ranunculus

  2. Zoliepup March 30, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    I’ve had the same problem… only with peonies! It was highway robbery what some of these florists wanted to charge me. I finally stopped looking at the top florists in my area (who also seemed, incidentally, less in tune with my vision), and found a lovely local woman who asked all the right questions, helped me source some reasonable prices, and said she’d use flowers from my garden.

    Hello peonies!

    Good luck with your quest.

  3. everydaycreate March 30, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I did some flowers for a friend’s wedding last year, and she realy wanted ranunculus but they were so expensive. So we compromised, and got different flowers for most of the purposes (alstromeria, spider mums, roses, etc) and used the ranunculus only for her and her husband. They had a special centerpiece that was all ranunculus, her bouquet and his boutonniere were both ranunculus – it was a way of incorporating it and making it special without breaking the bank. I really wanted them too, but I couldn’t make it happen. Sigh. I wanted peonies too but they were so expensive! I’m sure you’ll find a way to make it work.

  4. Blake K April 1, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    Sorry you’re going through this, but I totally hear you … rununculous is my all-time favorite flower too. I wonder what’s behind that new pricing.

  5. msmayday April 11, 2009 at 12:56 am #

    I just made simple, white ranunculus centerpieces for my friend’s wedding. Used about two dozen flowers per glass vase, bundling the stems into a tight round arrangement, no filler. Bought the flowers from a wholesale florist in the LA area for $4 a dozen.

    • Meg July 16, 2009 at 11:17 am #

      That is wonderful! If you don’t mind me asking…how large were the vases? Were these centerpieces for 5′ rounds or 8′ banquet tables? Lovely that you helped your friend, btw!

Leave a Reply

