Make Me Pretty!

4 May

I had my makeup trial with a fabulous makeup artist I found on Craigslist.

When I started looking, I knew I wanted someone with MAC training, it’s the best. I chatted with about half a dozen potentials, one charging as little as $25 (but then she added travel costs from Burnsville), one costing as much as $175 for trial and day-of makeup.

Of all the artists, I found a few to be flaky (i.e. not returning calls), but most were encouraging.

Then I found Elida. She was super-professional, sending a contract to me, working with my schedule, and (best of all) promising to be flexible on my wedding day.

She showed up on Saturday afternoon, because I was really intent on seeing what my makeup would look like in daylight. She rolled up our front steps with an arsenal. It was a case on wheels that was about 3′ tall.

She was lovely to work with, discussing colors, showing me how they’d blend together before we even started. I completely forgot to print my inspiration pics, so I told her what I was looking for (smoky but not black eyes, toned down mouth, even skin tone, lashes). She totally delivered.

Here’s my before pic (don’t mind the messy hair, I was cleaning the garage and my letterpress room) – also, be careful, I’m lacking makeup 🙂
028
Here’s my after pic.
010

And another of me with my sisters.
027

The total price: $40 for trial, $80 for day-of.

Want her info? PM me.

3 Responses to “Make Me Pretty!”

  1. A May 4, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    Wow, that’s a great deal. I don’t know why I didn’t think of looking on CL for make-up; I’ll make sure to do that (Los Angeles salons are kind of ridiculously expensive).

  2. Candy@VeganBride.com July 26, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    W-O-W-S-A!!
    Your before picture is the most beautiful before I have ever seen (aren’t YOU a lucky lady…you don’t even NEED the makeup)!!!!

    $80 for wedding makeup!?? I thought about $300 was the going rate!! bravo!!!!
    🙂 C

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vendor Review – Makeup Artist « Engageology - May 22, 2009

    […] I loved the results (see them here). […]

Leave a Reply

