Before and after: my craft room

12 Oct

Okay, so this post has NOTHING to do with parties or events. But it DOES have everything to do with being crafty.

This was a blah 9×7 room, destined to be a storage room (and an ugly one at that).

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I kept my sewing machine in there, and really wanted to have a designated sewing space, so I talked my husband into letting me refinish the space and turning it into a sewing/craft room.

I started by having someone else do some work – we had the old window removed and a glass block window installed. Then I painted the ceiling, primed the walls (Vaspar anti-mold primer), then painted said walls Sherwin-Williams Lime Rickey and hung wallpaper liner (hung horizontally) to cover the texture of the cinder block. I followed up with Norwall Tuxedo floral wallpaper. The finishing touch was the flooring – BerryLoc Alder floating laminate floors.

I did everything (except for the very last piece of laminate flooring, which was tricky because the room wasn’t actually square, and my husband preferred to cut the final piece rather than educate me on a different saw)!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Now, this “after” photo isn’t the absolutely finished product. I still needs to install the new chandelier (I don’t mess with electrical), chair rail (where the wallpaper and paint meet on the wall on the left) and put up the trim.

xoxo McKenzie

2 Responses to “Before and after: my craft room”

  1. Victoria November 2, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    That is so great!! What a transformation! It’s so cute and…crafty!

    Enjoy your new space!

  2. amber November 2, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    That is an amazing transformation!!

Leave a Reply

