Pro interview with Laura Hooper!

7 Jan

Have you seen Laura Hooper’s incredible calligraphy? If you’ve ever picked up Martha Stewart Weddings, Town & Country Weddings, Inside Weddings, InStyle Weddings, Bride and Bloom or any other number of fabulous bridal magazines, you probably have!

We were lucky enough to snag an interview with her. Check it out below.

S+S: Describe your calligraphy business – what is it, how did you get started, how do you do it?
LH: I picked up my first calligraphy pen at the age of twelve and have loved the art of lettering ever since. I decided to follow my passion and start my own business when I offered to do the envelopes for my best friend’s wedding invitations 8 years ago.

S+S: What are some challenges you face?
LH: I love running my own business, but one of the main challenges I face is handling growth. I personally create all the lettering and artwork so I am always busy, especially during the height of the wedding season. Time management is very important!

S+S: What is the best part about your business/job?
LH: There are so many things I love about my job, but one of the best perks is that I can to do my job nearly anywhere I want, as long as there is a flat surface around.

S+S: Do you have any tips/recommendations to brides who might be considering hiring a calligrapher?
LH: My tip for a bride hiring any vendor is to read the contract and be aware of their vendor’s policies are. You’d be surprised how few people actually read what they sign.

S+S: If a bride wants to incorporate calligraphy, but is working on a tight budget, do you have any recommendations or ideas that could help her achieve it?
LH: Many times, I will create the signage or place cards around the reception space. These small touches and details can add charm to any wedding that you and your guests will notice and admire.

S+S: And the old “stranded on a deserted island” question – what 5 items would you want with you?
LH: My significant other, a lifetime supply of sunscreen to protect my fair skin, my dog Sprinkles, my favorite photos of family and friends, and chapstick.

S+S: If you have anything else you’d like to say, here’s your soapbox.
LH: Everyday, I wake up and I am thankful for my wonderful clients that allow me to do what I love. In general, I’ve learned from the wedding industry/my clients that it’s best to face any challenges head on. Running my own business has given me a broader perspective on the world and made me a better person.

Thanks to the lovely Laura Hooper for taking the time out of her busy day to chat with me!

xoxo McKenzie

Leave a Reply

