My 2011 book wishlist

10 Jan

I love to read. But, being the parent of a toddler, don’t get to read nearly as much as I’d like to.

Rather than doing a 2011 bucket list, I’ve decided to create a must-read list. Broken into 2 categories, here we go:

Entertaining and baking!
Sugar Baby: Confections, Candies, Cakes & Other Delicious Recipes for Cooking with Sugar – I’d love to improve my sweets-making skills, and expand on my go-to recipes.
Simple Stunning Parties at Home – Beautiful.
Impress for Less – Recipes from celebrated chefs? Yes!
Alberto Pinto Table Settings – Beautiful and inspiring.
Macarons – I can’t wait for this book to be published! My favorite sweet, and I WILL learn to bake it properly this year.

Beach reads:
Good Enough to Eat by Stacey Ballis
Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffen (love every one of her books so far!)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
Half-Broken Horses by Jeannette Walls

We’ve booked a little trip to Mexico. Our trips tend to follow a pattern of wake, breakfast, beach (read and nap), light lunch, beach nap, shop, dinner, drinks, sleep. Bliss.

If you have a recommendation, let me know!

xoxo McKenzie

Photos from Flickr by santheo

One Response to “My 2011 book wishlist”

  1. Ware Washam January 10, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    I’ve read the last two you mentioned (Guernsey Literary … and Half-Broke Horses). Both were great. Can’t go wrong with either of these.

Leave a Reply

